The New Trust is:
Josh Staples: bass, vocals
Sara Sanger: guitar, vocals
Julia Lancer: drums

The New Trust has been:
Christopher Brum: guitar (battle to the death)
Matthew Izen: guitar, vocals (dark is the path)
Michael Richardson: guitar, vocals (we are fast moving, wake up…)

Established in Santa Rosa, CA in 2003

Contact: sara [at] thenewtrust.com
Booking: flowerbooking
Hi res press 


The New Trust is a co-ed Bay Area punk band who for the last ten years has been bashing out unique, melody-driven love songs. For The New Trust, however, “love song” might be a misnomer since both lyrically and musically they have more in common with bands like Shellac, Neurosis, or Party of Helicopters than other sappy indie-rock bands pouring their hearts out. Over the span of ten years and five albums The New Trust has managed to tour with bands as diverse as Loma Prieta and Ampere to These Arms Are Snakes, Smoking Popes and Minus the Bear, along the way learning every lesson that three people could possibly learn about being a band.


In early 2003 Josh Staples (The Velvet Teen), Sara Sanger and Julia Lancer decided to commit the next ten years of their lives to each other and to The New Trust. A decade later, they have recorded their finest material to date at Chicago’s Electrical Audio with veteran, and celebrated recordist Steve Albini (Nirvana, Slint, Pixies).


@ the new trust 2013